RTF014 Ives


The Ives Ensemble was founded in 1986 by the Dutch pianist John Snijders and consists of a steady pool of 12 musicians. The ensemble concentrates on performances of non-conducted 20th century chamber music, in which, ever since the founding of the ensemble, the music of Charles Ives, John Cage, Morton Feldman and Stefan Wolpe has been serving as its base.

Various composers have written especially for the Ives Ensemble, such as John Cage, Aldo Clementi,Walter Zimmermann, Gerald Barry, Andrew Culver, Christopher Fox, Fabio Nieder, Ron Ford, Jan van de Putte, James Rolfe, Ivo van Emmerik, Allison Cameron, Richard Rijnvos, Richard Ayres, Micha Hamel, Magnus Robb and Michel van der Aa.

The Foundation put on the Ensemble’s first ever London concert at the Purcell Room, Southbank, on 3 December 2013. The concert included works by Eric Egan, Gerald Barry, Laurence Crane, Christopher Fox, and John Cage.